How Many Railway Stations Are in Mumbai

How Many Railway Stations Are in Mumbai

How Many Railway Stations Are in Mumbai? A Comprehensive Guide

Mumbai is a bustling city that boasts an extensive railway network. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the many stations in Mumbai and provide all the information you need to know about them.

Mumbai, the financial capital of India, is renowned for its fast-paced lifestyle, congested streets, and extensive railway network. One of Mumbai’s busiest stations connects it to all major regions within India. Suppose you are planning a visit to Mumbai. In that case, you must know how many stations there are and what information is necessary before boarding a train. In this article, we’ll go over everything there is to know about Mumbai’s railway stations in detail.

How many railway stations are there in Mumbai?

Mumbai boasts an extensive rail system that connects the city and its suburbs. With 89 stations, Mumbai boasts one of the world’s largest train networks. 22 stations are on the Western Line, 26 on Central Line, and 41 on the Harbour Line routes.

Western Line:

The Western Line is one of Mumbai’s busiest railway lines, connecting Churchgate to Virar. Stretching for 60 kilometers and featuring 22 stations along its path, some notable stops include Bandra, Andheri, Borivali, and Virar.

Central Line:

The Central Line is an important railway line in Mumbai, connecting Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) to Kalyan. Covering 54 km, this Line has 26 stations along its route; some of the more prominent stops include Dadar, Thane, Kalyan, and Ghatkopar.

Harbour Line:

The Harbour Line is Mumbai’s third railway line, connecting its eastern suburbs to central Wadala Road. Spanning 52 km with 41 stations along its route, some notable stops include Vashi, Belapur, Nerul, and Panvel.

What are the essential facts to know about Mumbai’s railway stations?

Mumbai’s railway stations form an integral part of its transport infrastructure and play an integral role in millions of people’s daily lives. Here are a few things you should be aware of about them:

  1. Mumbai’s railway network is one of the busiest in the world, boasting millions of commuters using it daily.
  2. Mumbai has two primary railway lines: the Western Line and Central Line. The Western Line runs from Churchgate to Dahanu Road. At the same time, the Central Line connects Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) to Kalyan and Kasara.
  3. CST, also known as Victoria Terminus (VT), is one of Mumbai’s most iconic railway stations and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
  4. Other major railway stations in Mumbai include Mumbai Central, Bandra Terminus, Dadar, Kurla, and Thane.
  5. Mumbai’s railway stations are notorious for being overcrowded during peak hours, so it is essential to exercise extra caution when traveling.
  6. Mumbai’s suburban railway system operates slow and fast trains, the latter being faster and costlier.
  7. Mumbai’s railway stations are also home to many local street food vendors, offering commuters a selection of snacks and drinks.
  8. Mumbai’s railway stations have CCTV cameras, security personnel, and baggage scanners for passenger safety.
  9. Mumbai’s railway stations offer a variety of amenities for commuters, including ticket booking counters, ATMs, and public restrooms.
  10. Finally, Mumbai’s railway stations have played a pivotal role in its history and remain part of its cultural heritage.

List of Major Mumbai Railway Stations with Station code

Here’s a list of major railway stations in Mumbai along with their station codes:

  1. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) – CSTM
  2. Mumbai Central – BCT
  3. Bandra Terminus – BDTS
  4. Dadar (Central) – DR
  5. Dadar (Western) – DDR
  6. Kurla – CLA
  7. Thane – TNA
  8. Borivali – BVI
  9. Andheri – ADH
  10. Churchgate – CCG
  11. Grant Road – GTR
  12. Marine Lines – MEL
  13. Mahalaxmi – MX
  14. Lower Parel – PL
  15. Elphinstone Road – EPR
  16. Matunga – MTN
  17. Mulund – MLND
  18. Vashi – VSH
  19. Panvel – PNVL
  20. Vasai Road – BSR

List of Biggest railway stations in Mumbai with area in square ft

Here’s a list of some of the biggest railway stations in Mumbai along with their approximate area in square feet:
  1. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) – 39,000 sq ft
  2. Mumbai Central – 48,000 sq ft
  3. Dadar (Central) – 28,000 sq ft
  4. Kurla – 27,000 sq ft
  5. Thane – 22,500 sq ft
  6. Bandra Terminus – 13,500 sq ft
  7. Borivali – 10,000 sq ft
  8. Dadar (Western) – 10,000 sq ft
  9. Andheri – 9,000 sq ft
  10. Churchgate – 8,000 sq ft



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here